GreekEnglish (United Kingdom)
Tallinn University of Technology PDF Print E-mail
Tallinn University of technology is one of the largest universities in Estonia founded in 1918, and providing interdisciplinary higher education. The university is also the main research centre of technical, social and economic sciences in Estonia. The University is structured into eight faculties, three colleges and six research and development institutions. TUT has over 13 000 students and personnel of 1980 (incl. academic staff 860). The University offers engineering and economics diploma, bachelor's, master's and doctoral degree programmes. The University is organised into 8 faculties, 33 departments and 113 chairs, 9 faculty research centres, and  10 affiliated institutions. Engineers are prepared practically in all engineering fields and industrial economics required in Estonia. Participation in the EU and other international research projects, such as TEMPUS, INCO, PHARE, LEONARDO, SOCRATES, NORDPLUS and VISBY, the EU Framework Programmes has grown into multilateral joint agreements with universities in many European countries.

The Institute of Environmental Engineering (IEE) includes three chairs: water engineering, heating and ventilation and environmental protection. The IEE is responsible and coordinates the national surface water quality programme and has been a partner of several international projects in Estonia including EU FP4, FP5 and FP6 projects. In recent years IEE has had a major role in Estonia in research supporting the Water Framework Directive. 

Its website can be viewed, following the link: http://www.ttu.ee/